Sunday, January 19, 2014

Review of "Meet Me Under the Mistletoe"

Review of Meet Me Under the Mistletoe

by Joann Durgin


Jacob Marston, Starlight, Iowa's hometown hero, made a long-ago promise to the Lord: he won't kiss a woman until he knows she's "the one." Now at age twenty-eight, the rugged firefighter questions if it'll ever happen. Then, he meets his best friend's sister, Julia Sinclair, and Jake believes he's found the woman of his dreams. But she's promised to another. 

When Julia makes an unexpected confession on Christmas Day, Jake shares his secret with her, and it looks as though happily-ever-after will make a holiday appearance. But what will she think when she discovers his vow?

Somehow, everyone in the tiny town of Starlight suddenly learns Jake’s secret, and he's instantly transformed from town hero to laughingstock. Did Julia reveal his secret? Can Jake forget the humiliation and find his way under the mistletoe to share a forever kiss with Julia?

MY REVIEW:   Who would not want to kiss an adorable firefighter who also repairs toys to give them to needy children?  and if there's mistletoe, who can resist?   Julia and Jake have a rocky road as she is already engaged and he won't kiss a girl until he is sure she's the "one" for him.  This book just made me feel good. It is a sweet romance and definitely make me recall my own moments of falling in love.   Starlight sounds like a delightful town to live in and the town just has a "family feel" to it.  Read this sweet book to find out if Jake  and Julia find love and get a kiss underneath the mistletoe.   
5 Stars
I won a copy of this book from the author in a holiday giveaway.   It is my pleasure to review it.

About the Author:
JoAnn Durgin
From the Author's Page at
I like to say I've "been around" in the nicest possible sense. Meaning I've lived in several states in this great country, and I've lived long enough to have gained a certain amount of hard-earned wisdom. I've always heard to "write what you know." My debut novel, Awakening (November 2010), is the beginning of The Lewis Legacy Series, and is loosely based on my love story with my husband, Jim. Subsequent releases in The Lewis Legacy Series include Second Time Around (September 2011), Twin Hearts (April 2012) and Daydreams (December 2012). The fifth book in the series, Moonbeams, is expected to release in late winter or the early spring of 2014. Many more installments are planned for the series!
Catching Serenity, a full-length, standalone novel, released in September 2013.
All of the above-mentioned books are available in both ebook format and paperback editions. I like to call them contemporary Christian romantic adventures and are slightly longer in length and more "outside the box" of traditional "formula" romance with elements of romance, a little mystery here and there, emotion, drama and an abundance of humor along with showing how God works in the lives of my characters.
I've also written two fun, contemporary Christmas novellas set in fictional Starlight, Iowa. The first is Meet Me Under the Mistletoe (November 2012) and its sequel, Starlight, Star Bright, released in November 2013.

Purchase a copy of this book from

No comments:

Post a Comment

thanks for commenting! I love to hear from my friends and followers! Comments will be posted after approval due to the many spammers :(