Posts

"Murders and Metaphors" Book Review

Image
Murders and Metaphors
by Amanda Flower


USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery. Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves!

Niagara region booksellers Violet Waverly and Grandma Daisy sleuth the slaying of a sommelier whose book signing turned into her sayonara.


Book Description: 
January means ice wine season in the Niagara Falls region, but the festivities leave Charming Books owner Violet Waverly cold, still reeling from a past heartbreak. A past heartbreak who will be present at the annual midnight grape-harvest festival, and no magic in the world or incantation powerful enough could get Violet to attend. But Grandma Daisy, an omniscient force all on her own, informs Violet that she’s already arranged for the mystical Charming Books to host celebrity sommelier Belinda Perkins’s book signing at the party. Little do either Waverly women know, the ice wine festival will turn colder still…

"Bible Workbook Vol. 2 New Testament" Book Review

Image
Bible Workbook Vol. 2 New Testament
by Catherine B. Walker

Book Description:
Although this workbook was originally planned for high school Bible classes meeting every day for a semester, it has found a wider use by various age groups in churches and colleges and by individuals desiring direction in their personal Bible study. The workbook was first produced as a method of giving notes and assignment questions quickly, thereby leaving more valuable classroom time for explanations, discussions, and student participation. The workbook may be placed in a regulation size binder. Separate pages can be handed in when completed. Other notes, assigned papers, and themes can be placed throughout the notebook. 

This is in no sense a textbook. It is hoped that no one will make the completion of the workbook a goal in itself but that the questions and notes may stimulate and guide each student in searching and knowing the Bible. The questions do not cover all the important points in any chapter. It i…

"The Forgiving Jar" Book Review

Image
The Forgiving Jar
by Wanda E. Brunstetter


(The Prayer Jars #2)

What would happen if you found out someone has been impersonating you?

Sara Murray had never met her mother’s parents and was surprised to learn after her death that they were Amish living in Pennsylvania. When she is finally able to make the trip to meet them, she is shocked to learn someone else has been living with them and pretending to be Sara. Sara can’t understand how quickly her grandparents are willing to forgive the imposter.

Secrets and deceit seem to follow Sara, and she is so tired of it. Though soon she meets Brad Fuller who is visiting her grandparents during Christmas. She likes him a lot, but even he seems to pull away from her, not being totally honest.

Struggling, Sara finds an old canning jar hidden in the barn that is full of encouraging prayers. Can Sara find a way to forgive the past and move on to building new relationships?

This is Book 2 in the brand-new series, The Prayer Jars, from New York Times best…

A SECRET COURAGE book review

Image
A Secret Courage (The London Chronicles #1) by  Tricia Goyer
Book Description: A Mystery Brought Them Together.
Will Secrets Destroy Their Love?


Dive into WWII history in this well-researched story of international intrigue, heartwarming romance, and profound courage.

American Emma Hanson is one of a dozen women sent to work in London as a cryptographer—decoding German secrets at the height of World War II. Her job as a member of the Women's Army Corps gives her a way to fight back against those who killed her brother. The only distraction she needs is a good book for the long nights of bombing that threaten her fragile peace.

Englishman William Brandt's mind is full of the secrets he knows and the spies he must keep tabs on to ensure the safety of the people and nation he loves. But there might just be room in his heart for a pretty WAC worker with a sweet spirit—and a curiosity that could threaten all his plans.

Emma's and William's paths cross in the aisle of a London booksto…

A SECOND CHANCE AT HEAVEN book review

Image
As her body lay dying, her spirit began to travel As a troubled teenager, Tamara Laroux saw no way out. Desperate for her pain to end, crying out to God for forgiveness, Tamara does the unthinkable and embarks on a supernatural journey that will forever change the way she views God and the value of life on earth. As she plummets from her body to a place of vast darkness, torment, and agony, Tamara’s senses become heightened. She instantly realizes the finality of her rash decision. As she mulls this terrible new reality, she begs God to save her. What she experiences on the other side shocks and surprises her, but the unfailing love of God ultimately delivers her from an unwelcome fate. A Second Chance at Heaven is a remarkable memoir of the afterlife that will challenge each of us to ponder the reality of heaven and hell. Her supernatural experience convinces Tamara that the only knowledge that matters in this life is that Jesus Christ is Lord. Since then, Tamara has embarked on a won…

WELL DONE, BILLY GRAHAM book review

Image
Well Done, BILLY GRAHAM 
BY Jerushah Armfield, Aram Tchividjian, & Boz Tchividjian 

A Centennial Celebration in Personal Recollections
Book Description:Billy Graham influenced millions for Christ—perhaps even you or someone you love. 

Here, to honor the centennial of his birth, are scores of grateful recollections. Compiled from the website ThankYouBilly.com, organized by three of his grandchildren, Well Done, Billy Graham will encourage you with real-life stories of the gospel’s power. He had preached the good news of salvation in Jesus before an estimated 215 million people—and to hundreds of millions more by way of radio, television, movies, newspapers, and books. Now, in honor of the one hundredth anniversary of his birth, this book celebrates the legacy of Billy Graham through the personal reminiscences of more than three hundred people whose lives were changed. Whether he was planting spiritual seeds, leading individuals or their loved ones to Jesus, or simply setting a powerfu…

A SEAT BY THE HEARTH book review

Image
A Seat by the Hearth
by Amy Clipston



Book Description:
Priscilla Allgyer knows she cannot leave the past behind. But can love lead her toward the promise of healing? 

Priscilla Allgyer left the community to escape the expectations of Amish life. Now, years later, she is forced to return—along with her six-year-old son—to the place she thought she’d left behind forever. Though once estranged from her family, Priscilla is welcomed by her mother, but her father is cold and strict. He allows Priscilla to stay with them provided she dresses plainly, confesses her sins, and agrees to marry within the community. Once again, she feels suffocated, trapped, and alone.

As Priscilla reluctantly completes her shunning, she catches the eye of Mark Riehl, a farmer with a playboy reputation. Wary of Mark, Priscilla barely gives him the time of day—while Mark, unused to being ignored by the women of Bird-in-Hand, won’t give up the pursuit of her friendship. Priscilla desperately needs a friend in Mark, ev…