Thursday, May 2, 2013

Review of The Winnowing Season

Amish Vines and Orchards Book 2

by Cindy Woodsmall

The Winnowing Season (Amish Vines and Orchards, #2)

The tornado that devastated Kings’ Orchard pushed Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob to make a new start in Maine. Are they strong enough to withstand the challenges of establishing an Amish community—and brave enough to face the secrets that move with them?
On the eve of their departure to begin a new Old Order Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is shocked to discover that choices made by her business partner and friend, Samuel King, have placed her and her unusual gifts directly into the path of her district’s bishop and preachers. She is furious with Samuel and is fearful that the Kings will be influenced by the way her leaders see her, and not what they know to be true—that Rhoda’s intuition is a gift from God.
Jacob King won’t be swayed by community speculation. He loves Rhoda, believes in her, and wants to build a future with her in Maine. But when the ghosts of his past come calling and require him to fulfill a great debt, can he shake their hold before it destroys what he has with Rhoda? Samuel has a secret of his own—one he’ll go to great lengths to keep hidden, even if it means alienating those closest to him. Throwing himself into rehabilitating the once-abandoned orchard, Samuel turns to a surprising new ally.
Book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series asks: can the three faithfully follow God’s leading and build a new home and orchard in Maine? Or will this new beginning lead to more ruin and heartbreak?

My Review:
 5 Stars * * * * * 
I loved getting to know Rhoda, Jacob, Samuel, Leah and the other main characters  better in The Winnowing Season.   My heart feels heavy for Rhoda as she seems to constantly face fear and misunderstanding over what seems to me to be a gift from God.    The family moves to Maine to relocate and start over with a new apple orchard and it seems that things are going to work out for all of them, and then TROUBLE comes.  I won't reveal what the trouble is as that would ruin the story for readers.   
I appreciated that this book had romance, travel, and even mystery and intrigue as several characters are hiding secrets.   I am still dying to know what those secrets are for several of the characters after finishing the book.  That means I have to wait for the release of book 3 for resolution to my questions!   I was literally left hanging on the edge of my seat!   I was actually rather angry at the end as it ended with a real cliffhanger and I was frustrated!   
I think that Cindy addresses acceptance, forgiveness, and responsibility in the book in a wonderful way.  This book will make readers think about and evaluate times when they felt like the characters do in the story.  Cindy Woodsmall,  hurry up and write book 3 because I am ready right now!!    


Cindy Woodsmall

Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times best-selling author who has written six novels, three novellas, and Plain Wisdom, a work of nonfiction coauthored with her dearest Old Order Amish friend, Miriam Flaud. She’s been featured on ABC Nightline and the front page of the Wall Street Journal, and has worked with National Geographic on a documentary concerning Amish life.

She is also a veteran homeschool mom who no longer holds that position. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

I received a free copy of this book from (Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing) in exchange for my honest review.

To read the first chapter of The Winnowing Season:

No comments:

Post a Comment

thanks for commenting! I love to hear from my friends and followers! Comments will be posted after approval due to the many spammers :(